Just Say “No”

This little two-letter word and I have become really good friends.  I suggest you make it your friend also, if you haven’t already.  Without it, you’ll run yourself ragged.  And as “they” say (of course, I’ve always wondered who “they” are), you’ll be “toe up” (translate:  tore up) from the “floe up” (translate:  floor up) like “throw up” … You can’t say this one in proper English.  It just won’t work.  But seriously, many of us bend over backward to please everyone and at the end of the day, we’re wiped out.

I’m thankful that this two-letter word and I have been friends for a long, long time.  Don’t misunderstand me… I’m by no means selfish and I help when I can.  I think I have a few witnesses on this one (I just asked my husband, by the way, and he politely said that I’m  ‘well-balanced).’  Oh my… talk about being politically correct… SMH 183X.  =D

I’ve found that when I do say “yes,” it’s generally an introduction to a long trail of “yes’s” for some people.  No sooner than I’m finished with one “yes,” the next one almost magically appears.  OK, OK… but is there no end?  Do I actually have to explain that the situation is becoming excessive?  I’d think not.  But, thankfully, I’ve learned to say “no, sorry, can’t do it.”  I don’t usually feel too bad when saying it either.  I will say this… people will figure it out.  I’m not so important that if I don’t do it, it won’t get done.  So… when I’m tired, I rest.  When I’m not feeling well, I lay down. Church will go on… Work will go on (I’m not the type to take off just because… I may have called in sick one day last year… if that)… Life will go on… The meeting will go on…  Whatever it is, they’ll figure it out.

It also happens that when people are unorganized, they tend to want their emergency to become yours.  Someone put it well… A lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.  So… when I’m given the information at the last-minute (like ~ I need you to be at this place tomorrow evening and for the next three evenings), here comes that two-letter word popping right into my mind… Sorry… can’t do it.  Sure, I may help you out a couple of times but when it’s clear that your modus operandi is to simply procrastinate and not communicate, I simply say ‘no’ and go on to sleep… and sleep well. Why?  Because some folk will just ‘run you.’  Not me… I’m “well-balanced.” Ha!  Take care & be blessed… Thanks for visiting, subscribing. … ps. if you need anything, just let me know. =))

Please also visit… www.xtreme-fire.com

This entry was posted in Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Say “No”

  1. Tracy says:

    Well said, God-sis! Truth is truth…… Wisdom is longer life!

  2. Jim Zee says:

    Excellent post with much truth to think about. Work always flows to the most competent person
    in any organization until that person submerges — “don’t make your lack of planning my problem” observation is right on.

    Re: Just say no. Yup. Done that. On the other hand, never accept a ‘no’ from a person who does not have the authority to say ‘yes’ 🙂

    • Point well-taken… “never accept a ‘no’ from a person who does not have the authority to say ‘yes.’ Many times the “little people” will say “no” because it’s an easier route for them to take. And it is sooo true that it “flows to the most competent person.” So if we don’t set boundaries, there will be none. Thank you for your insight and encouragement as always.

  3. janice says:

    Glad you asked can you help a sister out? Thanks.

  4. Alan Sexton says:

    Point well made. “No” is perhaps among the most underutilized, if not improperly deployed words in the english language.

  5. I like the way you put that… I think you’re right. We’re busy trying to be “people-pleasers.” But it can keep us out of a lot of trouble, as well as preserve us if we utilize it properly.

  6. Your post made me think about what it means to maintain a standard. Sometimes there will be occassions where we have to say “NO” to somethings in order to maintain integrity. Also, if a person wants to maintain self-respect, then saying “NO” to some things maybe required. Being a “Yes Yes” person leaves no room for us to voice personal opinions of objection especially when faced with confrontational individuals and also individuals that present many temptations before our eyes. Also…being a “yes yes” person also opens doors in so many ways to be enticed to do things that defy our biblcal principles and could cause one to stray from the standard. We have the power within us to Say “NO”…but when we stop saying “NO” to certain things…we relinquish our authority back into the devils hands…It’s better to be like Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego that wouldn’t bow down to another God and were thrown into the firey furnace only to be saved and rescued by God for their obedience in Saying “NO” and demonstrating their “NO”…than be an Aaron who was unable to say “NO” and actually encouraged the people to carve ouot a Golden Calf during the time of the Great Exodus out of Egypt. this whole saying “No” thing is also tied to OBEDIENCE.

    Excellent Word sista. Keep preachin’ it. 😀

  7. Amen. So true… many times we are ‘required’ to say “NO.” If we are to be salt and light, we must stop trying to blend in with the world. We can’t afford to be SMOs (Sunday Morning Only) Christians. We must walk out our faith even when it’s inconvenient. Thank you for your insight and encouragement. Blessings! =))

Leave a Reply

