Love Lifted Me

“Love lifted me, love lifted me.  When nothing else could help, love lifted me!”  It’s an old song, but it has real meaning for me.  When I stop, even momentarily, to think, to ponder, to meditate on the goodness of Jesus and all that He’s done for me, I am truly grateful that I’m a part of the family of God–and have the promise of eternal life.  But when I peek backwards in my mind, I feel so fortunate that God chose me.  I understand that it’s not His will that any should perish but that all would come to repentance (II Peter 3:9).  So while I’m ecstatic that He chose me, I’m glad I had enough sense to choose Him also.  Understanding, of course, that we can’t come to Christ (that is, we can’t say that Jesus is Lord) except by the Holy Spirit (I Cor. 12:3). My best decision ever was accepting Him as my Lord and Savior.  And each of us must individually accept Him.  We can’t come into a relationship with Christ because of our family ties.  Our parents’ relationship won’t get us in.  We must make a personal choice–as it is an individual ‘thing.’  I think I’ve been a pretty nice person most of my life, although I do have some regrets.  But pretty nice won’t get me into heaven when my time on earth is up.  I’ve meant well.  There again, the way to hell is paved with good intentions and well-meant moments.  God knows when we’re ripe, when we’re ready for change.  And He puts just the right people in our paths at that time.  He demonstrates His love over and over again.  He’s the God of second chances.  It was His love that picked me up and turned me around.  Love lifted me… when nothing else could help!

Take care & be blessed…  Please also visit… www.xtreme-fire.com

This entry was posted in Motivational, spiriitual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

