If Jesus Came to Your House

I remember a poem from when I was much younger–one of many that I used to recite in church.  I’ll give you a few phrases so that you get the point; and I apologize for not remembering who wrote it.  Should I find the author, I’ll update the post.

“If Jesus came to your house to spend a day or two, if He came unexpectedly, I wonder what you’d do, oh I know you’d give your nicest room to such an honored guest, and all the food you’d serve to Him would be your very best, and you would keep assuring Him you’re glad to have Him there, and that serving Him in your home was joy beyond compare…”

 What if?  What if Jesus came to your house?  How would He be greeted and how welcome would He feel?  I’m afraid that many of us would hang our heads before answering this question.  Most of us would need to go scurrying to get things in order.  The poem said, “could He just walk right in, or would you have to rush about?”  I can imagine us advising our friends to slip out the back door, or don’t come by on Monday because I’m having a special guest over.  We’d begin moving things out of the way, hiding lotto stubs, magazines, and some of our video movies.  Yes, we’d then put out the Rod Parsley and T. D. Jakes videos and CDs.  Many of us would display our 7 different versions of the Bible, our Sunday School books, our YPWW pamphlets and the like.  We’d attempt to put our best Christian faces on.  However, if we stay ready, we won’t need to get ready.  And so we must live as though Christ could come at any time–because He could.  I believe He’d be uncomfortable in the company of many of us so-called Christians.  That is, Christians in name only.  We must truly begin to be salt and light in a dark world–and not just on Sundays.  And so we must love with agape, or unconditional, love.  We must forgive when wronged–so that no root of bitterness springs up.  There will be a crown for all of those who love His appearing.  We can’t love it, however, if we’re not ready for it.  The bottom line is that we must be mindful of our actions daily and live with eternity in view.  I’d like to think that He’d be comfortable in my presence–as comfortable as I am in His presence.

Take care & be blessed…  Please also visit… www.xtreme-fire.com

This entry was posted in Motivational, spiriitual, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If Jesus Came to Your House

Leave a Reply

